Kansas Sampler

Child Care Doalogue to answer st...

A Child Care Doalogue, organized and facilitated by the Kansas Sampler Foundatio...

Showcase counties for 2020 Big K...

Brown, Doniphan and Nemaha will be the next counties showcased in the Big Ka...

Big Kansas Road Trip to Showcase...

Cheyenne, Sherman and Wallace in Northwest Kansas will be the showcase counties ...

Kansas Explorer Club

Kansas Explorer Club

Members of the Kansas Explorer Club receive 5-6 print newsletters a year full of things to see and do that are off the beaten path.

We Kan!

We Kan!

The Big Rural Brainstorm will be held March 7 in Newton in 2016.

Rural Culture Elements

Rural Culture Elements

The 8 rural culture elements are: architecture, art, commerce, cuisine, customs, geography, history and people! They help you see a place with new eyes.

8 Wonders

8 Wonders

Have you seen the 8 Wonders of Kansas Guidebook? Let it guide you to all 216 Wonders!



Marci and WenDee, of the Kansas Sampler Foundation, are going to every (626) incorporated city in Kansas to research for the second edition of the Kansas Guidebook for Explorers.

Big Kansas Road Trip

Big Kansas Road Trip

The showcase counties are Cheyenne, Sherman and Wallace. The event will be held over four days, May 2-5, 2019.

Kansas Sampler Web Log
email Signup
Kansas Sampler Web Log
Kansas Sampler Web Log
Social Links Follow us on Twitter Become a Fan On Facebook

Map Header
Kansas Sampler Events


General/All News

Jun 5, 2014 | 2014 We Kan! Award Winners announced
The 22nd annual We Kan! awards were presented May 3 at the Kansas Sampler Festival in Wamego to ten people who help preserve and sustain rural culture. The awards are given by the Kansas Sampler Foundation as appreciation for dedicated work in helping preserve and sustain rural culture.

The 2014 winners are:

Stacy Barnes, Greensburg - Good for Greensburg through thick and thin

Phyllis Bitner, Arma - Irresistible force for Franklin

Jim & Sandi Coast, Cimarron - Community difference-maker

Jettie Condray, Minneapolis - Passion for Ottawa County History

Janelle Dockendorf, Abilene - Bringing the county together

Don Harness, Garden City - Keeping the Windsor Dream Alive

Katie Herrick, Johnson - Dedication to Stanton County history education

John Howard, Marysville - Marshall County Enthusiast

Paul Kallman, Scandia - Great support for North Central Kansas

Susan Wettstein, Garnett - Working for the good of Garnett


Foundation director Marci Penner said, "Each of these people has made an impact for the good of rural Kansas. It is our privilege to honor them."

The awards plates are made annually by Steve and Jane Fry of Elk Falls Pottery.



We may have a picture of the award winners.  Contact WenDee 620.585.2374 or wendee@kansassampler.org.